When can you reach over the net?
- After the opponent executes an attack-hit
- After the opponents have used their three hits
- After the opponents hit the ball so it’s clearly crossing the net, with no teammate able to make a legal play
- When the ball is falling near the net and no one on the attacking team can make a play
What makes a back row attack illegal?
A back row attack is an illegal play if a back row player contacts the ball completely above the net while on or in front of the 3-meter (10 foot) attack line, regardless of whether they jump or stand.
What makes a back row attack legal?
A back row player CAN attack legally by taking off from behind the 3-meter line and jumping, even if they land in front of it.
When can a libero replacement take place?
A completed rally must take place between two libero replacements except in the case of injury/illness or when there is a forced rotation caused by penalty. (EXCEPTION: when the next action the libero will take is to serve, no rally is required).
What happens when an ILLEGAL libero replacement occurs?
- Can be corrected by the team prior to the next service contact.
- Officials should correct errors as soon as they are recognized, including prior to next service contact; if officials get involved with correction, a delay sanction is assessed.
- If play begins (service contact) after incorrect replacement, a position fault occurs.
Injury/Illness during a match:
- Injury timeout (when no substitutes are available):
- If an injured player cannot be substituted (legally or exceptionally), an injury timeout of up to three minutes is given without requiring the team to take any remaining legal timeouts.
- If the player is unable to play after three minutes, the team may take any remaining legal timeouts.
- If the injured player cannot continue to play, the team is declared incomplete and defaults the set.
- Injury/Illness during the set:
- If the injured player cannot continue playing within 30 seconds, the player must be replaced by a legal substitute or a legal libero replacement, or the team must take a legal timeout if the player is to continue playing.
Are double contacts over the net on a first contact legal?
Yes; these are legal on first contact only. This includes if it is after a block touch.
What constitutes a block touch? Example video included.
Is this a legal block touch? Click the arrow to reveal the answer.
This is LEGAL. The criteria are ball coming from the opponent’s side, player near the net, and player hands higher than the top of the net. This meets all of those criteria. The ball hits the blocker in the head and arms while her hands are above the net, perfectly legal. The ball can rattle around in there like crazy and hit multiple people multiple times, as long as their hands are above the net. When she lands, she makes the team’s first contact with a bump.
What is the procedure for an early timeout conclusion?
The process for ending a timeout early is handled by the second referee (R2).
Ready Signal: The R2 then moves to their position, signals the number of timeouts that have been taken by each team, and gives the “ready” signal to the first referee to resume play.
Both Teams Must Be Ready: The key requirement is that the R2 must see both teams on the court and ready to play before the standard timeout time has elapsed (NCAA timeouts are typically 75 seconds, with a 15-second warning whistle).
Referee Action: If both teams are ready, the R2 will blow a loud double whistle to immediately end the timeout followed by the horn to end the timeout.
Clock Operator: The R2 ensures the clock operator stops the timeout timer or turns off the automatic horn.
What the R2’s responsibilities?
1.Interference and center line faults (focus seems to just be on net calls and we are negating to watch for centerline faults)
2.Receiving team positional faults
3.Notifying the coach when they have used both T.O. and have reached 15 subs (and 16th and so on)
R1/R2-go over ground rules with coaches (playable areas etc.) If working with newer officials discuss this in your pregame discussion before captains meeting. It is always good practice to fill the coaches in on this after the captain meeting and remind them of the new protocol regarding handshakes and 3rd set.
When to use a sanction?
There are some key words that would constitute carding a coach (bolded)
Warning- minor unsporting offenses (verbal)
Penalty- rude, offensive conduct, other serious offense
6.1.4 Disruptive Coaching
Engaging in disruptive coaching is not permitted and could results in an individual sanction. Examples of disruptive coaching include, but are not limited to:
6.1.4.1 Coaching from a position outside the designated coaching area (See Rule 5.2.4);
6.1.4.2 Loud or abusive language; 6.1.4.3 Inappropriate comments to officials; 6.1.4.4 Comments to the opposing team; 6.1.4.5 Throwing objects; 6.1.4.6 Displaying disgust in an overt manner; 6.1.4.7 Entering the court while the match is in progress, except during a timeout; 6.1.4.8 Entering or remaining in the substitution zone while the ball is in play; or 6.1.4.9 Entering the substitution zone to address the referees about a judgment
Occurrences in a set (not cumulative from set to set)
Minor Misconduct: Verbal Warning, YC
1. Minor unsporting behavior
2. Repeatedly addressing officials about decisions
3. Displaying frustration-that affects all
4. Attempts to influence calls
5. Attempts to intimidate opponents
6. Disruptive coaching
Rude conduct: RC
1. Profanity
2. Deliberate interference w/opponents
3. Demonstrative display of unsporting conduct
4. Illegal use of electronics
ALL sanctions issued by the R1-reference pgs. 137-138 signal 26 & 27